How much alcohol is in a shot glass?

A standard shot contains 1 ounce of alcohol.

---

There is no standard size for a single shot, except in Utah, where a shot is defined as 1.5 US fl oz (44 ml). Elsewhere in the U.S., the standard size is generally considered to be 1.25–1.5 US fl oz (37–44 ml). A double shot in the U.S. may be 2 fluid ounces or more.

---

The amount of alcohol in a shot glass will depend on the alcohol content of the spirit served in the glass. Shot glasses generally range in volume from 1.25 to 1.5 fluid ounces. Typically spirits served in a shot glasses are 40% alcohol by volume resulting in 0.5 to 0.7 ounces of alcohol in a shot.