What is squiddle?

Squiddles! was a three-season sing-along television series about a set of octopus-like creatures called squiddles. The show was rated TV-Y7 and taught lessons about friendship, acceptance, and the importance of a good therapist. Squiddles! was shown on Discovery Family, but abruptly ended in 1980.