Who said the only thing we have to fear is fear itself?

United States president Franklin D. Roosevelt said “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself” in his first inaugural address, on March 4, 1933.

---

"The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself" is a phrase from the 1933 inaugural address of President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

---

In Franklin Delano Roosevelt's first inaugural address he said, "... the only thing we have to fear is fear itself."