Who is the lion in the lion the witch and the wardrobe?

The lion's name is Aslan and is depicted as a talking lion, and is described as the King of Beasts, the son of the Emperor-Over-the-Sea, and the King above all High Kings in Narnia. Aslan is Turkish for "lion".