How do you clean a penny?

You can clean a penny with a mixture of vinegar and salt.

---

Baking soda and vinegar have proven to be one of the most effective ways to clean tarnished coins. Submerge the coins in a shallow bath of vinegar and let them soak for at least an hour. If you don't have vinegar on hand, filtered tap or distilled water can be used as a substitute.