Where do tulips come from?

History of tulips in Holland. Originally cultivated in the Ottoman Empire, tulips were imported into Holland in the sixteenth century. When Carolus Clusius wrote the first major book on tulips in 1592, they became so popular that his garden was raided and bulbs stolen on a regular basis.