How to teel the type of pine trees?

To teel type of pine trees, look at the needles. Most white pines, have five needles in each bundle. Two-needle pine species tend to be red pines, and yellow pines are three-needle pine trees. Longleaf pine has needles measuring 18 inches. Foxtail pines have the shortest needles, 1 inch.