What is purl knitting?

Purling is a knitting stitch in which you hold the yarn in front. You go from right to left through the stitch, keeping the right needle over the top of the left hand needle. Wrap the yarn around pull through the stitch, and the drop that stitch off the left needle to complete your purl stitch.