How many licks does it take to get to the middle of a lollipop?

After developing a theory for how flowing water causes dissolving and shrinking, the scientists concluded that it takes about 1,000 licks to get to the center of an average lollipop. And Tootsie Pops? Doctoral student Jinzi Huang told the New York Post that the number is closer to 2,500.