Do dogs hate hugs?

Dogs do not naturally view a hug as a sign of affection. In their natural communication system such a gesture is viewed as an attempt to control, threaten, or intimidate. Well socialized dogs with agreeable temperaments usually learn to tolerate a hug without resentment but few actually enjoy it.