Which is better butter or margarine?

Butter has a firmer consistency than margarine and contains more saturated fat. The most important difference is that butter contains saturated fat and many margarines contain trans fats. Trans fat raises LDL (bad) cholesterol significantly while lowering HDL (good) cholesterol.