What happened to matt davis?

In 2020, Matt Davis was called out by fellow cast members of Vampire Diaries for racist and xenophobic comments regarding COVID-19. Davis currently stars in The CW series Legacies, a spin-off of The Originals, where he reprises his role as Alaric Saltzman.