What's the proper temperature to cook a turkey to?

According to the USDA, it is recommended that you also check the internal temperature of the turkey in the innermost part of the thigh and wing and the thickest part of the breast with a food thermometer. The minimum internal temperature should reach 165 degrees Fahrenheit for safety.