How do you have to be to sit in the front seat of a car?

A child may not ride in the front seat of an airbag equipped vehicle if they are in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system. Children who are 8 years old or older OR who have reached at least 4 feet 9 inches in height may use a properly secured safety belt meeting federal standards.