Why do cats scratch their owners?

There are two primary reasons. Some cats scratch as a form of social play, it's how they show affection and get their kinetic energy out.

---

When a cat scratches their owner, most of the time they do not mean it in a malicious way. When cats play and wrestle with each other, their thick fur protects them from any injury. Unfortunately cats cannot recognize that we are not equipped with the same protection.