Why is the lion called the king of the jungle?

Lions are called the king of the jungle because they fear no other animal. However, it should be noted they actually live on the plains.

---

Lions are the kings of the jungle because of their raw power and strength. Lions fear no other animals, however, like a king lions do have enemies. The lion's worst enemy is the hyena which eat the same food. Why the jungle when lions live in the savannah? Jungle is Hindi for an uninhabited place.