What's the definition of cisco?

Ciscos are Lake Herrings of the genus Coregonus. There are two Coregonus species: the Coregonus Artedi of the Great Lakes of North America and also the Coregonus Hoyi, a related species found only in Lake Michigan. Both have upper and lower jaws of the same length, unlike all other whitefish.