How do you roast green peppers?

Preheat oven to 400° F. Brush a baking sheet lightly with olive oil or cooking spray. Lay peppers on their sides so stems are pointing sideways. Roast in oven for about 20 min., give peppers half a turn, then roast for another 20 min. The peppers should be charred, soft and slightly collapsed.