Why do we call rabbits bunnies?

“Bunny” is closer to the original word than “rabbit” is. Up until the 18th century, the word used for adult Oryctolagus cuniculus was “coney,” which was pronounced “cunny.” “Rabbit” was only used to describe a young or baby hare. The meanings of the words got switched, and we now use “rabbit”.