When was the first successful heart transplant?

On 3 December 1967, a large medical, nursing, and technical team led by the surgeon Christiaan Barnard performed the world's first human to human heart transplant, in Groote Schuur Hospital in Cape Town, South Africa,

---

Dr Chris Barnard performs the world's first human heart transplant. On 3 December 1967, South African doctor, Dr Christiaan (Chris) Barnard, performed the world's first human to human heart transplant at Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town.