Who was the green mile killer?

William ”Wild Bill” Wharton is the main antagonist in the novel The Green Mile by Stephen King and its 1999 film adaptation. The Green River Killer, Gary Ridgeway, was a serial killer active in Washington State and Oregon in the 1980s and 1990s and was convicted of 48 murders.