Tell me about the butterfly effect?

The butterfly effect is the idea that small things can have non-linear impacts on a complex system. The concept is imagined with a butterfly flapping its wings and causing a typhoon. Of course, a butterfly flapping its wings cannot cause a typhoon. Small events can, however, serve as catalysts.