Can i substitute olive oil for vegetable oil?

You can. However, I have found that in frying, vegetable oil produces a crispy food whereas olive oil would be more soft. In baking, vegetable oil would be preferred in my opinion.

---

You can substitute olive oil for other oils on a one-for-one basis, though it can affect the taste of some baked goods as it has a stronger flavor than canola or vegetable oil (especially in the case of extra virgin olive oil).