Who did america buy florida from?

In 1819, after years of negotiations, Secretary of State John Quincy Adams achieved a diplomatic coup with the signing of the Florida Purchase Treaty, which officially put Florida into U.S. hands at no cost except the U.S. assumption of some $5 million of claims by U.S. citizens against Spain.