What is a laynard?

A lanyard is a cord, length of webbing, or strap used for attachment, restraint, and retrieval. Lanyards are often used to conveniently carry items such as keys or identification cards, or as a safety harness to prevent accidental dropping of valuable handheld items such as a camera.