How did the crock-pot get its name?

A 1950 advertisement shows a slow cooker called the "Simmer Crock" made by the Industrial Radiant Heat Corp. ... The cooker was then reintroduced under the name "Crock-Pot" in 1971. Slow cookers achieved popularity in the US during the 1970s, when many women began to work outside the home.