Why is some cauliflower purple?

The purple coloring is caused by the presence of anthocyanin, a harmless, water-soluble natural pigment. Anthocyanin is the same pigment found in red cabbage. Sun exposure exaggerates its effect on the developing cauliflower head. White cauliflower is actually bred to not have it.