What does cats in the cradle mean?

The term cat’s in the cradle refers to a situation where a person does not spend time on any given relationship. Origin of the idiomatic expression The phrase cat’s in the cradle comes from a song of the same name which talks about a dad who doesn’t spend time with his son.