How long should you let a steak rest after cooking?

5-10 minutes, if it rests too long it will be over cooked.

---

One guideline says to let steaks rest for as long as you cooked them, or about five minutes for every inch of thickness, while another guideline says to let steaks rest ten minutes per pound. Both of these guidelines have you letting steaks rest for five to seven minutes before slicing them.