What is the most expensive stamp in the world?

The British Guiana One-Cent Magenta. The stamp, weighing just 0.04 grams, was auctioned by Sotheby's Tuesday, bringing in $9.48 million, just shy of the price range expected by Sotheby's experts, but still enough to break the world record.