What does it mean when there's a red ring around the moon?

The ring around the moon is caused by the refraction of moonlight caused by ice crystals from high-level cirrus clouds that normally precede a warm front.

---

When moonlight passes through thin clouds of ice crystals high in Earth's atmosphere. As moonlight passes through the ice crystals, it is bent in a way similar to light passing through a lens. The shape of the ice crystals causes the moonlight to be focused into a ring.