Who is daniel faraday?

Dr. Daniel Faraday is a fictional character on the ABC television series Lost played by Jeremy Davies. He is introduced in the Season 4 premiere as a physicist from the Queen's College, University of Oxford. He suffers from short-term memory loss, possibly due to his experiments with radioactivity.