Is hot dog a sandwich?

There is no consensus as to whether a hot dog is a sandwich or not. Some sources, including the dictionary Merriam Webster, consider the hot dog to be a type of split roll sandwich. Others consider the hot dog to be unique enough that it is a food item its own and not part of the sandwich family.