What is the purpose of the periodic table?

The purpose of the Periodic Table is to organize the chemical substances based on their structures. They are grouped horizontally by how many spherical shells the atom has and vertically by how full its shell is. Hydrogen and helium have only one shell, while lithium and oxygen have 2, etc.