What is a. d. mean after a year?

The terms anno Domini (AD) and before Christ (BC) are used to label or number years in the Julian and Gregorian calendars. ... Traditionally, English followed Latin usage by placing the "AD" abbreviation before the year number. AD can refer to after death referring the year zero in our calendar.