Why is vatican city a country?

The Vatican City State, also known as The Vatican, became independent from Italy with the Lateran Treaty (1929), and a distinct territory under the Holy See, itself a sovereign entity of international law, which maintains the city state's temporal, diplomatic, and spiritual independence.