How does chicken get salmonella?

Salmonella grows on virtually everything, and thrives in places like chicken coops where it can spread by contact with manure or other birds. Storing meat and eggs properly can suppress the growth of salmonella, keeping it at safe levels, and cooking can kill what salmonella is present in the food.