What does e. m. c. two mean?

“E” equals “M” multiplied by “C” squared is Albert Einstein’s famous equation describing the relationship between mass of matter M and energy E where the constant C is the speed of light. Basically it means matter and energy are essentially the same thing and that one can be converted into the other