What is the alphabet in japan?

Japan uses 3 alphabets. The first consists of many thousands of chinese characters. Each character has a specific meaning, and may have several pronunciations depending on the context. The other two alphabets, hiragana and katakana each have 50 syllables, each with a specific pronunciation