What is ice weak against?

Ice tends to be weaker nearest the shoreline due to the shifting, expansion and buckling action of a lake, stream or river that continually breaks and refreezes the ice near the shoreline. Since a river tends to have more movement versus a lake, river ice is usually weaker then lakes.