What state is known as the cross roads of america?

"Crossroads of America" became the official state motto for Indiana in 1937. Originally it was the nickname for Indianapolis, the state capital, which is the hub for several major interstate highways that criss-cross Indiana, connecting Hoosiers to the rest of the United States.