How long does it take for an oyster to make a pearl?

According to a FUN TRIVIA Subscriber, "Freshwater pearls can take between 1 and 6 years to form; whereas saltwater may take between 5 and 20 years. The longer a pearl stays in the shell, the more nacre that forms and the larger the pearl."