Why does it hail instead of snow?

When a cloud cools below freezing, the vapor condenses to tiny crystals. Hail forms above freezing temperatures, then is frozen essentially after it starts to fall, but not before it leaves the cloud. Snow forms as it freezes before it precipitates.