Is it bad to put coffee grounds down the drain?

Unlike most foods, coffee grounds clump together in water rather than breaking down. With time, the grounds can build up inside your sink drains, creating clogs that can prohibit the drains from doing their job. Coffee grounds should always go in the trash can.