How do you get a dragon in minecraft?

To hatch a dragon egg, you'll need to locate one in the wild. Dragon eggs can only be found after defeating the Ender Dragon. This means you'll need to find an End Portal, activate it, and carry enough high-end gear to take down the high-end enemy.