How do i pick basil?

Harvesting basil is a key part of helping the plant grow. Basil leaves grow in sets of two. When you harvest, it's best to pinch off the stem just above a set of leaves, rather than snipping just a leaf or two. Always try to leave the plant with 4 - 6 pairs of leaves.