How long is a dream?

Dream times vary, and most dreaming occurs during Rapid Eye Movement or R.E.M. sleep, although some can also occur in non-R.E.M. sleep. R.E.M. stages of sleep begin usually after the first 90 minutes of falling asleep. You spend a total of approximately 2 hours each night dreaming.