Can tigers purr?

Tigers, like the other largest felines, cannot purr, due to a different throat structure than smaller cats. However, they make a distinctive chuffing sound that takes the place of purring.

---

Tigers, Jaguars, Snow Leopards, and Clouded Leopards chuff. Chuffing is the equivalent of a domestic cat's purr. It is a low-intensity sound that a big cat will emit in short, loud bursts. To vocalize a chuff, air is blown through the nostrils while the mouth is closed, producing a breathy snort