What is a predicate in a sentence?

A predicate tells what the subject is or is doing. A complete predicate includes all the words in the action part of the sentence. A simple predicate is the complete verb in the sentence. The Tale of Mr. Morton (Schoolhouse Rock song) is a great song to teach subjects and predicates.

---

A predicate is part of a sentence containing a verb and stating something about the subject. For example, in the sentence "Joe came home.", the predicate is "came home".