Why do people say the world is your oyster?

This phrase originated in Shakespeare's “The Merry Wives of Windsor” and has become a popular motivational saying in modern life. Hiding inside the oyster is a pearl, just sitting there waiting to be taken by you and you are in a position to take the opportunities that life has to offer.